Skullcrusher Mountain (5/11)

Coffee is, well… All right, I suppose. I am not a huge fan, but every once in a while I will have a cup. In all seriousness, though, I do not drink it for enjoyment, like some people I know. I drink coffee as a way to get caffeine, an essential ingredient here at the MSSM. I may drink coffee on Saturday morning, and sometimes even Sunday morning, but any other day of the week I can easily make it through without much caffeine. Usually. Coffee is great when it is needed, how about that? But as the author of “Stuff White People Like” (a white person himself) said on a white person drinking coffee, “You could kind of tell they didn’t enjoy it, but they did it anyways until they liked it – like cigarettes.” 

Beer is all right as well, I suppose. I have not had enough experience with the drink to be able to judge, but from the few sips I have ever had, it is pretty vile in taste. But do not worry, it does not have to taste good if it gets you extremely drunk, after a while. Still many people around the world flaunt different microbrews and their flavor differences, because of a slight difference in hops or something like that. In all seriousness, I am not going to be able to tell unless it is actually a different type of beer.

That reminds me! I laugh at movies, perhaps too much. Much of this laughter occurs when a character asks for a beer at a bar. The conversation usually goes something like this: “I’ll have a beer.” After that, the bartender gets him a beer. Just a generic beer. I suppose one could relate the character to a beer, because I usually imagine a hipster getting a Pabst Blue Ribbon, or a huge NASCAR fan getting a Budweiser. I feel that in real life, a bartender that was told that a patron wanted “beer,” they would stand and stare blankly until the customer clarified. It is what I would do.

I made this half-pony half-monkey monster to please you,

Hulking Manatee

About Hulking Manatee

I'm an MSSMer, so... I'm insane. Yes, absolutely insane. Bonkers, even.
This entry was posted in Personal Response and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Skullcrusher Mountain (5/11)

  1. porteram says:

    Although I completely disagree with your claim that caffeine is absolutely essential to MSSMers, it always bothered me too that there are just generic beers in every movie. Maybe most bars have like a house special or something they consider a “default beer”?

  2. Hulking Manatee says:

    Well, at least in the bars I know of, bars do not have default “beers”. While a regular customer may be able to ask for a beer from a bartender that they know and get what they want, in any other case they will be met with blank stares.

Leave a Reply

