Perpetual Teatime – May 11th

With your leave, or indeed without it, I think, I will take the liberty of dwelling a moment upon this marvelous concept.  Somewhere, it is always time for a cup of tea and a biscuit.  Or a scone, or a slice of cake, or some toast with lemon curd.  Perpetual teatime – perpetual conversation.  And why don’t you (sorry, Mr. Knight, we) have this in America?  Maybe if you just took fifteen minutes every day between four and five to sit down and have some tea… well, your OUR divorce rates might go down, at the very least.

I don’t understand why, why these doctors, etc. were condemning it.  Was this just another level of xenophobia?  I understand the liquor merchants’ discontent with all these new, hot, stimulating drinks showing up and turning them into unfashionable old news.  But, unless people like Simon Pauli were somehow in league with the winemakers or something, I don’t see why they took issue quite so passionately with tea.  I know it’s just the current cultural perception of it, but I don’t think of it as a terribly threatening drink.

I think Thomas Twining was pretty clever, letting women bypass the stupid chauvinistic coffee houses the way he did.  I didn’t know that that was how the company started, and it serves the coffee houses right that it started declining after women got hold of tea.  But why didn’t it catch on properly in France?  Was it anti-English sentiment that drove them to hot chocolate?  I really want to know.  I mean, I don’t mind a bit, but it’s not explained why tea fell out of fashion so suddenly across the channel.  Did the French have some sort of quarrel with the Portuguese?

Also.  This Portuguese princess’s dowry contained cities?!  What?  I did not know that could happen.  It’s absurd.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perpetual Teatime – May 11th

  1. porteram says:

    I am positively delighted by the first paragraph of this post…Well. Really, by the entire thing in general.

Leave a Reply

