What I Really Learned In Study Hall (4/9)

It was a mad experiment. Well, at least, by the end it was. This is what happens when I make poutine for the first time.

To make poutine (enough for eight servings) you will need:

  • 10 medium sized potatoes
  • Shredded Mozzarella cheese or cheese curds
  • 8 cups of vegetable oil for frying
  • Butter
  • Flour
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups beef stock
  • A deep fryer
  • A stove top
  • Nerves of steel

Start off by first making the gravy. Do so by letting  cup of butter melt on the stove (low heat). When it is all melted, add in your flour very slowly. Make the cup last three shakes. This will make a binding agent for the stocks, making the gravy nice and thick. Mix it furiously, by the way. Add in the chicken stock, doing the same slow addition as the flour, still stirring furiously. Next, add in the beef stock, adding and mixing as before. Let it simmer for a bit, and there you have it, gravy.

Now that the gravy is out of the way (and on a mid-low temperature setting, we want it warm, not scalded) it is time to peel and cut the potatoes. Peel them one at a time, and let them soak in cold water, so they retain their moisture. After peeling them, it is time to cut them into fries. To tell you the truth, I had no idea how big the fries should be, nor did I have any idea how I should cut them.

Nom nom nom

I think I did well.

This is when the mad scientist starting taking precedence. I had little to no idea what I was doing from this point onward. Because of this, I don’t think that poutine is that difficult to make. It was a sort of guess and check deal.

The next step, or the step to do while cutting up fries is a dangerous one. And by dangerous, I mean ridiculously frightening.

I had never used a “FryDaddy Jr.” before. It is a tiny little fryer, with no buttons. You plug it in, and it turns on. I threw the oil in and plugged it in, and it started hissing like a dragon at Mr. Knight and I. Both of us were fearing that the school would burn down do to us, which would not be fun. However, we persevered. The oil stopped bubbling, actually. And that just scared us more… But soon afterward, we realized that is when there is uniform heat throughout the oil. This is when you should put in your fries. Put in just enough to allow them to move around a little bit in the fryer.

Well, as a word of warning, make sure you have some sort of shield to block flying grease from hitting you, and make sure that you have a utensil for getting the fries out of the screaming dragon.

I did not have a metal pronged spoon, so I used a metal spatula. I am a evil genius, it seems.

The process from now on out is all in a jumble, because I was putting fries in the fryer while cutting fries for the fryer, while taking fries out of the fryer, while putting the cheese over them, while gravyfiying a plate of fries.

Well, first off, watch the fries that you have in the fryer carefully, and look for them to become a nice golden brown. Test the crunchiness with the utensil you are using by poking it, and seeing how much resistance it gives.

Watch carefully... But don't get hot grease in your face.

These fries need to be cooked through, but not overcooked. That is the main problem with having no idea what I was doing. I did quite a lot of guesswork after the cutting the potatoes part, and even that was guesswork. I did not know how big the fries should have been, but I think they turned out all right.

 

 

Make sure they are cooked through.

When you take out the fries, place them on a plate that is covered in a few layers of paper towels. After a short time, transfer the fries onto a bowl or plate, where the magic will take place. As you can see to the left, the FryDaddy Jr.  is not a large fryer. It takes patience to cook the amount of fries required for a food studies class.  That lid for a pot at the bottom right-hand corner? That is my shield, used to protect from the grease. This entire cooking process has been a ridiculous mad experiment for me. The conversations going on between Mr. Knight and I at the moment were somewhere along the lines of “Logan, do you have any idea what you are doing?” “Nope, but I think if I do this…”

Now that the fries are cooked, you are ready to serve! This process is the quickest and by far the easiest. Take the cooked fries and put them in a bowl, and them put some cheese on them. After that, ladle on the gravy. Mmmmmmm…. Gravy….

Let's get these to a bowl.

I want to eat these as they are... Gravy time.

Stop, it's gravy time. For Reals.

Now that it is all cooked and prepared, it is time to chow down. Use a fork if you would like, or use your hands. Just keep in mind, the fries are hot!

And he's not even in food studies. Nom nom nom.

I don’t think you want to know,

Hulking Manatee

 

P.S. Add bacon bits.

About Hulking Manatee

I'm an MSSMer, so... I'm insane. Yes, absolutely insane. Bonkers, even.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Really Learned In Study Hall (4/9)

  1. porteram says:

    Great job Logan! You certainly did everything entirely from scratch. Good job!

Leave a Reply

