The Chocolate Torte (4/5)

A wise man learns from the mistakes of others, a fool from his own. – Latin Proverb

This is for formatting

This is for formattting

This is for formatting

This is for formatting

When Mr. Knight first assigned this, I had a weird mix of bewilderment, happiness, frustration, and a bunch of other cheesy feelings floating around inside my head. What food was I going to choose?! How was I going to make it!? Oh no! The world is ending!

But I persevered! And I made a chocolate torte (or three) that turned out quite nicely, if not so exquisite as the Cafe Sorpreso’s wonderful creation. It was actually a lot more simple to make than I thought it would be given it’s heavenly taste.

I did have one slight mishap though… I forgot to take pictures the first time I made it, so I had to make a third torte and actually take pictures of that one. Hence the proverb in my header.

Now, before I actually had the recipe for this thing, I thought it was some wonderfully complicated procedure that was required to create such beauty, something us simple mortals wouldn’t ever understand. Then I went to Cafe Sorpreso and asked the waitress (who happens to be my friend’s sister-in-law) if they were willing to share their recipe with me. She wrote it down in about two and a half minutes on the back of one of their menu sheets, and, turns out it has only five (5) ingredients:

  • 24 ounces bittersweet chocolate
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup liquor (preferably rum, bourbon works too)
  • 3/4 pound of butter
  • 10 large eggs
  • You’ll also need two 8″ pans and parchment/wax paper or tinfoil
  • Not to mention a medium-sized mixing bowl, a pot to heat stuff in on the stove, and a whisk and/or electric mixer. An actual oven and stove are useful too.

1. So first, go through your usual preheating of the oven, greasing the pans stuff. It might be useful to know that you’ll need the oven at 350 degrees.

Mr. Knight showed me this nifty trick to grease pans. First, grease the pan (sides and bottom, then put a round piece of tinfoil in the pan to cover onte bottom and grease that. More butter on the pan never hurts, as it is quite frustrating to have the beautiful creation fall apart when you try to take it out of the pan.

2. Next you’ll need to take 2 cups of sugar and put it a stove-friendly pot, and then add the 1 cup of rum to it.

 

Bring that to a vigorous boil and add the chocolate and butter. It will seem very thick at first, but it will melt and go back to a normal consistency. It is also wise to cut the butter into smaller chunks to have it melt faster and spread better throughout the mixture.

Stir this gently until all of the butter and chocolate is melted.

3. In a separate bowl, mix your last cup of sugar and, get ready, 10 whole eggs. That seemed like a lot to me. Anywho, this is where I would use an electric mixer if you have one.

Once it is uniformly mixed (and after making sure your stove pot is big enough), pour the sugar-egg mixture into your stove pot and mix it (turn the heat to low or turn it off now if you want) until well-blended.

4. Now pour the mixture into your two pans and bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. After 30 minutes has passed, shut off the heat and open the oven door slightly to allow it to cool. After another 30 minutes, take it out of the oven and either put it in the fridge or allow it to cool completely on the counter first, and then put it in the fridge. It is best served after being in the fridge and then warming on the counter to about 50 degrees.

Enjoy!

P.S. Next time you guys are in Presque Isle with your parents, it is required that you stop at Cafe Sorpreso (right across Main Street from the Braden Theater) and eat dinner (I recommend an appetizer, soup, and this torte, everything else is quite pricey). You will not regret it.

This entry was posted in Personal Response and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Chocolate Torte (4/5)

  1. bethanyhartley says:

    Firstly, I like the quote, I believe it relates quite nicely. Secondly, three quarters of a POUND of butter?!?! That’s a lot of butter! I’ve never heard of butter being measured in pounds. Oh, and, in you last pictures, what did you do differently to make one so smooth looking and the other so, not smooth looking?

  2. William Popov says:

    One of those tortes is before it went into the oven, the other is after being cooked.

  3. bethanyhartley says:

    I’m making this today, and suddenly i’m quite grateful that Mr. Knight required us to put our recipes on here. So, wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

