The People Under The Stairs (3/29)

It would seem that I slept through Monday in such a way that I completely forgot about posting a link. That just got me thinking about hibernation, and actually bears. Bears do not hibernate. It sounds ridiculous, I know. I was always told they did. But no, they actually do not truly hibernate. They spend times when food is scarce sleeping a whole lot, but that is different, as they do get up and go looking for food every once in a while. Hibernation is definitively seasonal, and the animal reaches a point of “near-death,” where their temperature is lower, the heart rate is lower, and their breathing rate is lower. Their metabolism pretty much stops. That is all I have to say on bears hibernating.

Our time is now,

Hulking Manatee

About Hulking Manatee

I'm an MSSMer, so... I'm insane. Yes, absolutely insane. Bonkers, even.
This entry was posted in Links, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The People Under The Stairs (3/29)

  1. William Popov says:

    Lies. Dreadful lies. I will never believe any of it. Bears have always hibernated and always will hibernate. I think it would be cool to be a bear. I could eat just about any living thing, and sleep in the snow, and be generally cool.

    Also: bear bacon? I don’t think so.
    Was it in Food Studies or somewhere else that we talked about apex predators being bad food choices?

  2. Mr. Sturdy Knight says:

    That was Food Studies, William. And it’s true; eating an apex predator is basically equivalent to licking all of the dirtiest corners of their habitat at once. It’s just not a good idea.

  3. porteram says:

    I have a hard time believing this guy’s claim that there are less than ten animals in the world that hibernate. The idea is absurd. I think this guy is taking the definition of “hibernation” a little to literally. Just because not all animals hibernate as intensely as a woodchuck doesn’t mean that what they are doing isn’t classified as hibernation. And where did bear bacon come from? I see no reference to it anywhere in this post or the article linked to it.

Leave a Reply

