There are four basic food groups: milk chocolate, dark chocolate, white chocolate, and chocolate truffles..(3/23)

Title: Quote, Unknown

So, the topics in class this week, so I thought I’d talk about something that was only slightly touched on, but still relevant to class; it’s the most fantastic luxury food: chocolate.

So, I was wondering: what on Earth would make someone want to add sugar to something so naturally unsweet? I mean, when most people think sweets, they think chocolate. Cocoa is extremely bitter by nature. It would be like someone messing up a lemon so much that we associated lemon with sweetness. Even in the dessert world, lemon is still considered tart.

So this begs the question, why would something so unnatural as chocolate as we know it come to be so normal? Even coffee is seen as coming from the coffee bean, and is used in many ways. However, the cocoa bean is pretty much only used to make chocolate, or other sweet things. It just doesn’t make sense!

Perhaps some ways of using the cocoa bean just aren’t widely used in society, or just aren’t widely practiced any more. It probably wasn’t a big deal back when chocalate wasn’t readily available at any moment.

I merely ask all of these questions, because it ties back into not only what we have been doing in class this week, but also what we talked about at the beginning of the year. America is obese. Much of this comes from too much calorie consumption. What’s one of the easiest ways to get pointless calories that add up quickly? Chocolate.

So, maybe there is something to be considered here. Luxury foods are called luxury foods for a reason. Not only were they not always readily available back when they became known, but they also are not something we should necessarily be considering normal in our diets today. A great many luxury foods are unhealthy for us. When referring to food, the word luxury has obviously somewhat changed meaning from “not readily available” to “hey, we really shouldn’t eat this all the time!”. In order to keep the obesity rates from skyrocketing even more in this country, people need to realize this before it is too late.

This entry was posted in Personal Response and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There are four basic food groups: milk chocolate, dark chocolate, white chocolate, and chocolate truffles..(3/23)

  1. bensmgb says:

    Why does everyone talk about good foods? Logan is over there talking about iced tea and your talking about chocolate. I desperately want to eat some now. Anyway, Mary Margaret I really liked your weekly post, just please don’t write about such amazing foods anymore.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s