Said The King To The River (3/16)

Foods that I can pronounce and detect are definitely of French pronunciation, why must you elude me with your spelling? Why, internet, must you be as slow as an old man with broken legs moving uphill in molasses? Mirliton, that is it!A food that tastes like weird nothingness when uncooked, that tastes like a mix of water and disgusting when boiled for an hour, and tastes amazing when placed in a casserole with brown shrimp. What in the world is this monstrosity? It looks like the old man from above’s lips, dyed green, and placed at the bottom of a gourd. That casserole, though, that was delicious. I cannot seem to find a reason not to enjoy mirliton, I suppose, other than its weirdness.

It isn’t even that weird, other than the way it looks. It tastes fine when cooked. When cooked. That is the important part. I highly doubt humans would have voluntarily eaten it without cooking it first. Since I knew what it was, I was fine with it, but without cooking first, I see no reason to continue after the first bite. That is why cooking food is so needed. It gives us food of absolute deliciousness, which would have otherwise been little more than disgusting.

I try to imagine eating bacon raw. It is not a great sight… I don’t think I ever want to do it. I know, you’re asking yourself, “Logan doesn’t want to eat bacon? What is wrong with the world?” Well, nothing is wrong with the world. But raw bacon just sounds wrong. It should be dripping with grease and fat, and it should make the entire building smell like bacon. That also sounds wrong, but the good kind of wrong, you know? Well, I guess my point is that some foods just have to be cooked, otherwise, why eat them

“Freeze!” Said the wind to the water,

Hulking Manatee

About Hulking Manatee

I'm an MSSMer, so... I'm insane. Yes, absolutely insane. Bonkers, even.
This entry was posted in Personal Response, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Said The King To The River (3/16)

  1. Mr. Sturdy Knight says:

    Yup! Cooking not only makes our diets more digestible and good for us, but it allows us to eat things we otherwise couldn’t. Sometimes, as in this case, the benefits are very pronounced.

  2. bethanyhartley says:

    I agree Logan. What really surprised me was how terrible the “alligator fruit” tasted before the casserole and how delicious it was in the casserole. I figured there must be a bazillion ingredients in it, so I looked up a recipe online and apart from the Holy Trinity MaryMargaret’s mother mentioned, there really wasn’t anything else in it. I guess the south just knows how to do food.

  3. bensmgb says:

    Of course you bring it back to bacon some way. I also love how you describe the mirliton. One of the things I like about your posts are the quotes in the names and in the ending

Leave a Reply

