Weekly Link – Capturing “Modernist Cuisine” – March 14th

My mother forwarded me this link a few days ago, and I thought it was just phenomenal.  This is a review of a new set of cookbooks (priced on Amazon.com at over $400, rather irritatingly) to do with “modernist cuisine.”  I won’t pretend to completely understand this as a concept – though it’s got a lot to do with little cubes of foam, I think – but the photography is phenomenal.  There’s one picture in particular which made me think of Popov and Logan – it includes duck eggs and bacon chips.  But there is also a hypermagnified lemon, crazy beautiful sashimi, magnified foam bubbles, and a beautiful collage of sundried tomatoes.  Take a look.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Link – Capturing “Modernist Cuisine” – March 14th

  1. William Popov says:

    Wow. Those photographs are amazing. They make me practically taste the food with my eyes. I especially like the hanging/exploding food pictures. Adds a whole new dimension to the “food is art” idea.

Leave a Reply

