Messes Of Men (3/8)

Would you eat fruit (and only fruit) after it has fallen from a tree, because doing anything otherwise is murder?  Fuitarians do just that, and I just find it quite ridiculous and odd.

First off, I have absolutely no access to fruits and things that are fresh, and I mean right-off-the-tree fresh, so the idea of taking on the challenge myself is ridiculous. Even if I just restricted myself to eating raw fruit, unprepared in any way, I would have a very difficult time with it. While MSSM does serve fruit daily to its students, it doesn’t serve it with enough variety for me to be satisfied. Also, the massive amount of fruit I would have to eat to not be too tired would be insane.

I have another problem with people like most fruitarians, and vegans, actually. The uppity attitude shown in exaggeration in the movie/graphic novels of “Scott Pilgrim vs. The World” is just extremely annoying. To me, eating a carrot is not murder, nor is drinking milk. I like to take a bite out of cow, preferably cooked, and I do not care if you think I am being terrible to animals.

While I do respect other people’s views on food and things, I would prefer to not be presented with a condescending speech when I am eating a delicious strip of bacon. Bacon is delicious, in my opinon, and I have met vegetarians that admit that bacon is absolutely delicious.

Fruitarianism is just ridiculously odd, as the idea of eating food only after it has fallen from a tree because that is what out ancestors did is ridiculous. Or ancestors did not wait patiently for food to fall from the sky. We hunted down animals and shook trees. It is just silly, ridiculous even.

Floating forgetfully along,

Hulking Manatee

About Hulking Manatee

I'm an MSSMer, so... I'm insane. Yes, absolutely insane. Bonkers, even.
This entry was posted in Personal Response, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Messes Of Men (3/8)

  1. maoismdoesntwork says:

    I agree – the superior attitude that accompanies a lot of dramatic dieters can be totally infuriating. But, that said, we all have something we consider right or wrong about the way we eat and, in fact, live, be it fruitarianism, buying organic free-range chickens, or cutting out Florida tomatoes because we read a magazine article about the slave labour that drives the industry. And it’s tricky. We have no right and every right to make judgments about the ways other people eat and live. It’s their life, their money, their body. But it’s our planet, our country’s treatment of illegal workers, our smalltown grocery store being put out of business because a chain just moved in. And it’s such a hard balance to find.

  2. bethanyhartley says:

    I completely agree, especially about the attitude part. I’m sure there are a lot of crazy diets that stand out to people because the dieters want them to stand out to people. However, the fact that you actually considered trying a fruitarian diet as a personal food challenge, is quite terrifying.

Leave a Reply

