Delicious raw food that is normally not raw. Go figure. (3/7)

So we’ve been talking about raw food a lot in class and that got me thinking about sushi. Whenever I think of raw food, I personally think of sushi. In class, I was wondering about the preparation involved. {SIDE NOTE-Sushi is technically anything that contains “sushi” rice. ( aka sticky rice- to make it sticky, you prepare it with vinegar.) So raw fish by itself is not sushi; its sashimi, but only it’s thinly sliced. If not, I don’t know what they would call that.}

Here

This entry was posted in Links and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Delicious raw food that is normally not raw. Go figure. (3/7)

  1. bethanyhartley says:

    If sushi must only have sushi rice, then does this mean, that there is sushi without any raw fish? (Sorry if this is a stupid question, I’ve never had sushi)

  2. kaseyjosander says:

    Yeah there is. Cucumber sushi is delicious and it is only cucumbers and rice wrapped in nori. (Which is seaweed.)

    And there is no such thing as a stupid question. Stupid answers, yes. Stupid questions, no.

    I would also suggest having sushi. It is really good.

  3. William Popov says:

    That’s an interesing sushi-related page, but I did notice one or two very very odd things about it:
    ” For safety sake, all fish prepared for use in sushi should be either cooked to an internal temperature of 1400F or at least frozen for 3 days at –500F to kill any larva that might be present.”
    Ok, so before eating, we should either incinerate our fish (which I thought was supposed to be eaten raw?) or deep freeze it for 3 days to a point that is against the laws of nature (unless these peoeple have figured out how to acheive temperatures below absolute zero…)

    Seems kind of fishy to me.
    😉

  4. porteram says:

    That’s really interesting. I normally thought of sushi as raw fish too. (Personally, though, I think of apples when we talk about raw food in class.) Even knowing that it is cooked doesn’t make me any more eager to eat it, however.

Leave a Reply

