Personal Response (3/2) The Raw Food Diet

This week in class we have been reading about various raw food diets of people around the world.  Although it seems that people cannot live off of raw foods alone unless in a modern day city with access to multiple different raw foods, it is possible to live on raw foods for short periods of time.  One such example is in “Catching Fire”, when it tells us about the small family stranded on a boat and who ate only fish for over a month.  It has been found that people don’t have as much energy when they eat only raw foods and certain functions of the body begin to change.

Even though all signs point to raw food being a poor diet choice, over the next week or so I am going to attempt to eat only raw foods except soda.  I wanted to try this challenge because of Mary Margaret.  She tried to do the raw food diet over the last few days and I would like to attempt it too.  It is going to be very tough considering nothing I eat must be cooked and the raw options at this school are not always very varied.

In this week’s reading I found some of the diets a little….different.  One of these diets was followed by the instincualists, people who ate only one thing per meal.  I thought about attempting this idea but decided that I would need vast amounts of money and access to uncommon foods, such as bone marrow.  Another one of the diets was the sort of basic raw food diet.  Most of the people who followed this eating style reported a lack of energy and ate foods in different ways than others might think to.  What does a loaf of sunflower sprouts and other broccoli seed sprouts taste like?  I do not know, but it sounds a little strange.  I think that in my diet I’ll be eating will be a little bit more familiar.   Wish me luck guys.

This entry was posted in Personal Response and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Personal Response (3/2) The Raw Food Diet

  1. Mr. Sturdy Knight says:

    While I applaud your willingness to try new things in the pursuit of knowledge, Ben, I have to say that I don’t think this is the best idea. You say yourself that the evidence points towards raw food diets being more or less untenable, and in an environment like MSSM with rather sharply limited food options, the problem is exacerbated. Perhaps instead you might try just keeping track of the different ways in which the food you eat is cooked or otherwise processed, just to see what proportion of your normal diet is cooked vs. raw.

Leave a Reply

