You Asked For Pictures – February 18th

I was going through old blog photos from the beginning of the school year and found some of a cake I made and blogged about in September.  It was a completely fantastic New York Times recipe, and I may as well share it with you. Here’s the exact text from the post.

 

1 cup poppy seeds
1 cup of milk
1 cup (8 oz., 2 sticks or 16 tablespoons) soft unsalted butter
2 cups of plain flour
2 cups of sugar
3 eggs, separated
2 teaspoons of vanilla (I used a little less because I’m a low-budget student.  Ha.)
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

Preheat your oven to 350°F and grease a cake pan.  The recipe said to use a tube pan, but mine was an 8″ X 11″ Pyrex baking dish, and that fit beautifully.

Put your poppy seeds and milk in a small saucepan, bring them to the boil and then take them off the heat to cool (they should be more or less room-temperature, because you don’t want them to melt the butter later).
Cream the butter and sugar together with an electric beater (handheld in my case…I miss my KitchenAid!) until light and fluffy and transcendently deliciously fatteningly good.
Mix in the egg yolks and vanilla, followed by the poppy seed mixture, and beat the hell out of them until everything but the seeds is pretty homogeneous.

Slowly add the flour, salt and baking powder, folding them in gently.
Clean your beaters and get a nice, clean bowl to whisk your egg whites in (if anything greasy touches egg whites, they won’t whip.  In case you didn’t know.  I really hope one of the delinquents I live with is reading this and figuring out some chemical reason for it).  Aaaaanywaay… whip the egg whites until stiff, but not dry.  They should hold peaks.

Trying not to deflate them too much, gently fold the whites into the rest of the batter.  Then scrape the batter into the pan and bake for about 1 hour (I’m not actually sure how long mine went for, because I had to run to English and had a friend take it out for me.  But about an hour.  And it was perfect).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

