All I ask of food is that it doesn’t harm me..(1/31)

Title: Quote, Michael Palin

http://www.organicauthority.com/foodie-buzz/what-is-in-fast-food-chicken-hint-its-not-chicken.html

http://www.organicauthority.com/blog/health/taco-bell-sued-over-mystery-beef-ingredients/ 

The first of these links is to an article entitled “What’s in Fast Food Chicken? (Hint: It’s NOT Chicken)”.  This is quite an interesting little article, including the ingredients on McDonald’s chicken; it also says that only 50% of the “chicken” is actually chicken. It might shock you to see the ingredients list’s length.

The second is to an article entitled “Taco Bell Sued Over Mystery Beef Ingredients”. Apparently, a law firm found that only 35% of Taco Bell’s “beef” is actually beef. The lawsuit is bringing into question whether or not Taco Bell is using “forbidden ingredients” in the things they serve.

This entry was posted in Personal Response and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All I ask of food is that it doesn’t harm me..(1/31)

  1. Mr. Sturdy Knight says:

    A good pair of links, Mary Margaret, and well contextualized. I like the Michael Palin quotation, but what exactly does it imply? I am unable to find the line in context, so I can’t tell how seriously he means the statement to be taken (though given that he was a member of Monty Python, I suspect not very). I at least expect more from my food than a simple lack of poison; I want stuff that is both tasty and good for me. Taking Palin’s idea as a baseline, what exactly can we, as consumers, demand from our food?

Leave a Reply

