Food is an important part of a balanced diet..(1/26)

Title: Quote, Fran Lebowitz

How I look at food has changed drastically in the past few months. I see food as having a value. This has become a good thing for me. For medical reasons, I have started having to count the amount of carbohydrates I consume in a day. As I find that the more a food is processed, the more hidden carbohydrates it contains, I start eating more foods that are less and less processed.

I’m really starting to understand how little people actually need to eat, as opposed to how much we actually eat. And trust me, we are all eating a lot more than we need to. How much a person needs to eat obviously varies based on how athletic they are, and what their health condition is. But I look at people in very similar conditions to myself and realise how abundant their diet is. I am not to suggest that my diet is perfect, of course.

So, basically my philosophy of food is that it has a value…a much greater value than we give it credit for. My goal with food is not just to eat it, but get as much nutritional value out of it as I can. I choose food based on whether I think it tastes good, as well as if it will provide me with the proper amount of carbohydrates. This, of course, gives me limits.  So, I am currently working on becoming an expert at  how to avoid foods that will fill my daily limit on carbohydrates in a single serving.

As far as the taste of my food goes, I enjoy simplicity. I should be able to identify every ingredient in my food. There are also foods that just should not crunch. My biggest pet peeve is someone sneaking an onion into a dish where it doesn’t belong. People seem to have the same habit with bell peppers. If you ask me, onions should be used for an addition to flavor, not texture. A ground-up onion has the same pleasant effect on taste, without adding an unpleasant texture. Both onions and bell peppers have very overpowering taste when not properly ground in a dish.

There are certain taste enhancers I won’t say no to, however. There’s NO such thing as too much cheese. Maybe it’s the Italian in me, but I have never tried a dish and said there was too much cheese in it. Therefore, the above statement must be true.

I enjoy it when people don’t just use salt in cooking, and explore other spices. I also think that the drink served with a meal can be as important as the food itself. The taste in strong dishes, such as Italian or Mexican dishes, is greatly enhanced by milk. However, there are some dishes that have more subtle tastes, and water is the best choice because if the flavor in the drink is too strong, the subtle spices’ contributions are lost.

Less is more. I appreciate the simplicities in life, and food is no exception.

This entry was posted in Personal Response and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Food is an important part of a balanced diet..(1/26)

  1. Mr. Sturdy Knight says:

    YES. Food is all about value! We grow it, harvest it, ship it, process it, and serve it, adding value at every step along the way. Light, portable foods like salt or cinnamon have even been used as currency in some cultures. We lose sight of that today, in a nation with such incredibly abundant food supplies, and we really ought to be more thrifty with what we buy and eat.

  2. kaseyjosander says:

    I love your logic about too much cheese……
    I’ve never had anything with too much cheese either. There’s 2 out of roughly 7 billion.

  3. bethanyhartley says:

    I agree. And I’ve always wondered why it is that better, more natural foods are more filling and satisfying than crappy processed junk. I also really agree with you, and Kasey, that nothing every has too much cheese.

Leave a Reply

